Trying for a version of Llumchuy Waqachi that forms tubers well under long days

Llumchuy Waqachi is one of those iconic, extra deep eyed Andean potatoes. We can grow it in North America, but it only develops really big, lumpy tubers if you can keep it going into December. I have been making crosses with it for several years, trying to get varieties that tuberize well under long days, but they usually lose the lumpiness. Here are a few that are showing some promise.

Yungay x Llumchuy Waqachi. This is the best yet, with a clearly defined shape.
potato-yunxllum-tuber-large

Loowit x (GB Pink x Llumchuy Waqachi). Good size and nice color. I would like better defined lumps though, like in the variety above. These two will be a high priority cross next year.
potato-LxL1-tubers-hand

Kinigi x Llumchuy Waqachi. This is closer to the typical results in LW crosses. Lumpy, but not impressively so. Still, it has high yield, reasonable tuber size, and blight resistance, so I will also cross it with the above varieties.
potato-Kinda_Llumpy-tubers-hand

1 Like

These are incredible! I did some experiments using several types of your TPS in the high mountains of Appalachia (zip 24433). Just brought them all in today due to a heavy frost expected tonight (plus voles are an issue here and my cat is lazy :joy:). I found some beautiful variation! I am excited as I am saving seed. (Likely a crap shoot as I didn’t separate plants).

If you have suggestions I am all ears. Folks around here really need a reliable potato that will keep in root cellars, but also have the option to grow from seed if needed, as climate change is causing fluctuations in temps. Breaking potato dormancy and causing rot some years.

If you have suggestions- I am all ears! Love that none has a single spot of blight, the plants were super stars, and I could have really gotten more if I had more time. The mix red mystery potatoes were the super stars!